A Rap Board for Race Fans
Welcome to Race Rap! A Rap Board for Race Fans
Top News
Carteret News
Oct 15, 2018 - Andy Marquis
Carteret County Speedway Owner Bobby Watson Passes Away

Obituary Notice News
Oct 14, 2018 -
Obituary for Bobby Day Watson of Carteret County Speedway

Stafford Motor Speedway News
Oct 8, 2018 -
Stafford Speedway 2019 SK Light Modified Rules Released

Stafford Motor Speedway News
Oct 8, 2018 -
Marcello Rufrano Wins 2018 SK Light Championship at Stafford Speedway

The Plain Truth News
Oct 8, 2018 -
Today in The Plain Truth

The Plain Truth News
Oct 8, 2018 -

Langley Speedway News
Oct 8, 2018 -
The Performance Plus & Crossings at Oakbrooke Championship Night at the Races

NASCAR Whelen All-American Series News
Sep 24, 2018 -
Philip Morris Joins Historic Company

Please patronize our sponsors!
Red Letter Bible

Tamco Paint.Com NOW ONLINE

  6:12pm   Past Hour
  5:12pm   1-4 hrs old
  2:12pm   4-12 hrs
  6:12am   12-24 hrs
  6:12pm   Over 24 hrs
     Registered Key
     Referred Key
RaceRap News & Messageboard  Page topnews: Viewing Top News Article
   Viewing Top News Article
Orange County Speedway

Orange County Speedway News
Craig Moore Outlasts Field, Wins at Orange County Speedway
Jul 6, 2010 - updated Jul 6th, 2010 3:04pm
Web posted by Ken Childs

Rougemont,N.C. --

On Independence Day weekend, there were fireworks both on and off the track at Orange County Speedway, and at the end of the night it was Craig Moore coming out on top.

Barry Beggarly would set the fast time in qualifying, but championship contender Terry Dease would draw the pole.  Dease would lead until a Lap 18 spin, also involving another championship contender: Joey Mahanes.  The two leaders spinning would allow for Craig Moore to take the lead, a spot he would not relinquish for the rest of the eveing.

On Lap 54, contact between Dease and Mahanes would send Mahanes spinning, bringing out the caution flag.  On the restart lap, Mahanes and Dease would tangle again, with Dease hitting the wall and effectively ending his night.  While under caution, Dease and Mahanes would tangle again, with both drivers being parked for the evening.

The race would remain green for the rest of the night, with Craig Moore taking the victory.  Paul Bryant and Zachary Marks would finish second and third, respectively with both drivers earning their best finish of the season.  Melvin Langley would finish fourth, with Terry Dease receiving credit for fifth.

In Limited Sportsman, Chuck Lawson started on the outside of Jesse Little, but managed to pull ahead on the first lap.  Lawson would fight off repeated attacks by both Little and Ferrell.  Jesse Little appeared to have second place secured late in the race, but a flat right-rear tire would shorten his race early.  At the end of 50 laps, Chuck Lawson would have his first win of 2010,with Timmy Ferrell, Kenny Bowes, Ricky Jones and Chris Crosby finishing second through fifth.

Orange County Speedway’s rules state that any driver winning more than four races in a row will have to start at the rear of the field.  Keith Edwards was put in that situation, and made the most of it despite a $100 bounty placed on him.  Chris Carroll drew the pole, but Daniel Schadt quickly worked his way to the front.  While Schadt led, Edwards worked his way through the field, catching Schadt after a Lap 20 caution.  It would only take Edwards two laps to get past Schadt after the restart, and Edwards never looked back, winning his sixth race of the year.  Daniel Schadt and Dennis Sargent Jr. would finish second and third.

Jack Milam would sit on the pole and lead the majority of the 20 lap Pure Stock event.  It wasn’t until a Lap 15 pass by son Jarrett that Milam would fall back to second.  Jarrett Milam would hold off his father for the final five laps (including three restarts due to cautions) to win the race and extend his point lead over father Jack.  Teammate Jim Lacks would finish third.

Gary Young Jr. would lead all 20 laps in Modifieds and take the checkered flag ahead of Brad Allen and Richard Thomas.  In post-race inspection, however, Young would be found illegal due to a rule infraction involving tires.  The disqualification would give Allen the win, with Thomas receiving credit for second place and Roy Cook third.

In Legends, Kyle Resco would take the checkered flag after fighting off repeated attacks by Billy Gomez Jr. and Jamie Laine.  In Bandoleros, Matt Murphy would take the checkered flag, but would be later disqualified, giving Grayson Massey his second consecutive win over Blake Spears and Tate Fogleman.

Racing returns in two weeks on July 17 with a full night of racing at the high-banked Orange County Speedway, featuring 100 laps from the Orange County Speedway Late Model Stocks.  Also in action will be Limited Sportsman, Grand Stock, Street Stocks, Virginia Mini-Cup and Modifieds.  Tickets for the night’s racing action are $10 for adults, $8 for youth 11-18, with kids 10 and under free.  All Seniors (65+), college faculty, staff and students, as well as military with valid ID are just $5.  For more information call the track office at (336) 364-1222 or go to www.ocstrack.com.


Late Model Stock - 100 laps


1)  1 - Craig Moore

2) 75 - Paul Bryant

3) 25 - Zachary Marks

4) 29 - Melvin Langley

5) 06 - Terry Dease

6) 45 - Joey Mahanes

7) 82 - Barry Beggarly

8) 77 - Tracey Chambers

9) 87 - Ben Peterson



Limited Sportsman - 50 laps


1)  42 - Chuck Lawson

2)   3 - Timmy Ferrell

3)  80 - Kenny Bowes

4)  38 - Ricky Jones

5)  11 - Chris Crosby

6)  72 - Justin newlin

7)  02 - Casey Pope

8)  14 - Dusty Ellington

9)  03 - Jesse Little

10) 29 - Jonathan Langley

11) 09 - Kyle Appel

12) 10 - Brian Cole

13) 51 - Louis White



Grand Stock - 35 laps


1) 93 - Keith Edwards

2) 12 - Daniel Schadt

3) 38 - Dennis Sargent Jr.

4) 17 - Chris Carroll

5) 66 - Chris Morrissey

6)  1 - Madison Whittle

7) 65 - Thomas Chappell

8) 87 - Harold Sumney

9) 77 - Michael Smith



Pure Stock - 20 laps


1) 50 - Jarrett Milam

2) 58 - Jack Milam

3) 05 - Jim Lacks

4)  5 - Charles Clardy Jr.

5) 18 - Anthony Glass

6) 42 - James peery

7) 13 - Derrick Easter

8) 47 - Chase Sandefur

9) 75 - Les Aliff



Modified - 20 laps


1) 10 - Brad Allen

2) 15 - Richard Thomas

3) 12 - Roy Cook

4) 19 - Don Cook

5) 13 - Jason Cook

6) 25 - Larry Cook

7) 45 - Gary Young Jr.


Legends - 25 laps


1) 02 - Kyle Resco

2) 66 - Billy Gomez Jr.

3) 51 - Jaime Laine

4) 46 - Mason Hudson

5)  7 - Dillon Spain

6) 39 - Kevin Yeatts



Bandolero - 12 laps


1)  39 - Grayson Massey

2)  23 - Blake Spears

3)   4 - Tate Fogleman

4)  33 - Sprout Royal

5)  14 - Banks Johnson

6)  07 - Calvin Meadows

7)  61 - Jeffrey Stanton

8) 110 - Kade Lambert

9)  01 - Cody Wiles

10)  7 - Matt Murphy

Home  |  Contact

(c) Copyright 2018 RaceRap, LLC

[ Go To Top of Page ]

Tracksdie Weather

Driver Web Sites - Click Here



Click Here for entire list of tracks and series

RaceRap News & Photo Page
RaceRap News & Photo Page

Dillon Motor Speedway
Dillon Motor Speedway

Caraway Speedway
Caraway Speedway

Hickory Motor Speedway
Hickory Motor Speedway

Driver & Team Press Releases
Driver & Team Press Releases

Florence Motor Speedway
Florence Motor Speedway

Coastal Plains Raceway Park
Coastal Plains Raceway Park

Richmond International Raceway
Richmond International Raceway

Myrtle Beach Speedway
Myrtle Beach Speedway

Southside Speedway
Southside Speedway

Southern National Motorsports Park
Southern National Motorsports Park

Mountain View Speedway
Mountain View Speedway


Lonesome Pine Raceway
Lonesome Pine Raceway

ACE Speedway
ACE Speedway

Wake County Speedway
Wake County Speedway


Click Here for entire list of tracks and series

Pass Series Racing
Pass Series Racing

UARA Series
UARA Series

MiniStock Mayhem Series
MiniStock Mayhem Series

South East Limited Late Models Series
South East Limited Late Models Series

RaceRap, LLC